The village of Broughton is bound to the south by the Bearbrook and the north by the Grand Union Canal.
Little remains of the old village of Broughton. The old water mill still exists alongside the Bearbrook but the wheel and mill race have long disappeared.
Bridleway bridge on the Grand Union Canal at Broughton
Broughton is unique among the villages in that the old manor house still exists; now called Old Manor Farm it retains its original moat and oak-beamed façade but is now surrounded by modern farm buildings and cannot be seen from the road.
At one time Broughton had its own public house, the Seven Stars, housed in a most attractive thatched cottage. The cottage is still here but is now a private house.
Agriculture is still an important part of the Broughton economy. Out of a total of 21 houses, three are working farms and one is an active horse stud.
Black Poplars along the Canal at Broughton
The small settlement at Broughton Crossing, mid way between Bierton and Broughton, consists of a pub and 17 houses. It grew up around the level crossing on the old Aylesbury North to Cheddington railway line that was closed to passenger traffic in 1954.
Now, The Dog House public house is very much the vocal point of the hamlet which now shadows the new Kingsbrook Village currently being build.